Friday, August 29, 2003

All Things Distributed: Using 3 Qubits instead of 2: "There have been reports about some interesting quantum computing progress by researchers from UCL and Oxford. Simon Benjamin and Sougato Boise have proposed a radically different quantum computer design that no longer requires on-off interactions between the qubits storing the states. Instead of relying on metal electrodes to control the interaction between two qubits sharing superposition, the new design uses a third qubit that is attuned to a different energy frequency. The middle electron responds differently to energy frequencies than does its neighbors on both sides, and the device would be able to complete all necessary logic functions necessary for quantum computing. "
QIP 2004 - the 7th workshop on Quantum Information Processing | Institute for Quantum Computing

To be held in Waterloo, Canada; hosted by the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics and the Institute for Quantum Computing.

January 15 - 19, 2004

Quantum information processing is the recasting of computer science in a quantum mechanical framework. It tries to improve on classical computers and classical complexity bounds by making use of quantum mechanical phenomena. After Peter Shor's 1994 discovery of efficient quantum algorithms for factoring and the discrete log (threatening current "classical" cryptography), the field has grown explosively and is now one of the most active subfields of both computer science and physics. QIP 2004 is the seventh workshop on quantum computing, quantum cryptography, and quantum information theory in the tradition of AQIP 98 in Aarhus, AQIP 99 in Chicago, QIP 2000 in Montreal, QIP 2001 at the CWI in Amsterdam, QIP 2002 at IBM in Yorktown Heights, and QIP 2003 at MSRI, Berkeley. The conference will run from Thursday 15 January until Monday 19 January. It will consist of various invited talks, a display of posters, and an open session.

Co-chairs: Michele Mosca (IQC & PI), Daniel Gottesman (PI) and Ashwin Nayak (IQC & PI).

Steering Committee: Dorit Aharonov, Charles Bennett, Harry Buhrman, Isaac Chuang, David DiVincenzo, Miklos Santha, Umesh Vazirani, John Watrous.